My Favorite Things: 5 Companies That I Love

From time to time, I update my blog with a mention of some things that I like, and a few things that are pet peeves. Today, I return to some of my favorite things with a mention of five companies that make me feel good every time that I encounter them:


1. Verizon.

Two weeks ago, I was in the Angeles National Forest at 7,500 elevation with a film crew. Everyone was complaining about the lack of coverage on their cell phones and especially on their Iphones, serviced by AT&T. They looked over to see me talking clearly on my Verizon cell phone, and the cursing of AT&T began. Yes, Apple made a mistake when it affiliated with AT&T, but Verizon’s service was excellent long before the Iphone called it to the attention of most mobile phone users. After a frustrating experience with dropped calls with Sprint, I converted my service to Verizon in 2002, and I have never looked back. The customer service is prompt, friendly, eager to help and is in American English. I wish that the Verizon CEO was a bit less outspoken about his partisan leanings, but other than this, I’m a big fan of the company and remain a happy customer.

2. Apple.

Verizon’s Droid is an excellent phone, but it’s not the Iphone. My HP Pavilion Laptop serves my purposes, but it’s not a MacBook. There is an ease of use, a logic, and an attention to design that Apple consistently delivers. They sometimes can be overly protective of their operating system and their intellectual property, but no one can doubt their commitment to quality and to innovation. The Apple stores themselves are indicative of the Apple experience, and I continue to be impressed with the way this company is leading our media and web experiences.

3. Trader Joe’s.

One of my biggest complaints about grocery stores and food prices is that healthy food is more expensive, giving us all an incentive to eat unhealthy to save money. Whole Paycheck (Whole Foods) does not help as it requires a salary exceeding $100,000 per year to regularly afford its offerings. Trader Joe’s makes healthy eating fun and affordable for the rest of us. They show sensitivity to ecological issues by providing brown paper bags – with handles. What I most appreciate about TJ is the way that it consistently is on the cutting edge of food innovations and health discoveries. For example, I get my daily share of my Omega 3s, not through a capsule, but through the TJ snack mix of berries and nuts. I love the trendy combination of chocolate and salt, and TJ’s dark chocolate covered almonds with sea salt are perhaps my favorite dessert now. The samples always make a visit to TJ an experience I look forward to in the midst of a grocery trip that I otherwise dread. And need I say anything more about Two Buck Chuck?

4. Go Daddy.com.

I use Go Daddy.com for my web hosting service as well as my email service. I also used their web templates to design my own website. Whether it was assisting me with technical codes or making a bill adjustment, Go Daddy has an impressive customer service, they always promptly answer the phone, and they seem unhurried as they help me with whatever issue is my concern. It is rare to partner with such a large company and feel satisfaction, but I can’t say enough good things about my experience with Go Daddy.

5. American Airlines.

I know that you may be surprised that I choose to list any large domestic carrier in my list of favorite companies, but I’ve only had great experiences with American Airlines. Except for their decision not to hire me as a flight attendant in 1982 (said with a smile), I have only positive things to say. Granted, Virgin America provides the nicest ride within the US these days, but it is not one of the larger American carriers with broad service throughout the country. My first experience with American was as a child as I watched the airline invest in my city of Nashville, and then I came to know their congressional affairs staff during my service in Washington. I have had only good experiences with the airline as I’ve flown it hundreds of times throughout America and to international destinations. When my mother became gravely ill in Nashville two years ago, I called American and Southwest to ask for a discount fare to fly to her side from Los Angeles. Southwest was unwilling to discount the last minute fare at all. American cut it by half. But that’s just the beginning. They then gave me complete flexibility on my return date without additional fees, then again awarded me and my father a a half price fare when my mother died. I will never forget their kindness which allowed me to be with my mother at that special time, and that permitted me to bring my dad back to LA with me as we both recovered from her loss. Though I have the option every time I fly between LA and Nashville to choose American or Southwest, I always choose American. They earned my respect and my loyalty, and they remain one of my favorite companies.

What are yours?

Comments
3 Responses to “My Favorite Things: 5 Companies That I Love”
  1. Sean says:

    You don’t have an iPhone or a MacBook Pro? How can get out of bed in the morning? Where do you summon the will to go on?

  2. Lisa says:

    Don’t forget TJ’s 2 buck Chuck…..can’t beat it for inexpensive, quality wine.

  3. toddbouldin says:

    I wish I had both Sean, but the economy hasn’t allowed it. I refuse to have AT&T. However, I do have an ITouch and use all the IPhone apps. Love it!

Leave a comment